so far from interesting

the ramblings and adventures of a tightly-wound girl

The New Year and The Tournament

Posted by k8hinote on January 1, 2012

First off, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!  2011 was pretty epic, so while I’m a little sad to see it go, I already know that 2012 has some excellent adventures in store for me and I can’t wait to find out exactly what those will be.

The highlights of this year are abundant, but I’m going to list just a few of my favorite things about 2011:

* CD Release at The Loving Touch
* TLP staying at our house and their amazing set at Lager
* Mollie
* Ann and I breaking up a fight with hugs outside The Berkley Front after Happy Endings
* NYC adventure with The Bloofs (Jim’s multiple entanglements with our rented minivan is my favorite story)
* T&N CD Release at Berkley Front, TGT CD Release at Woodruff’s, Duende! LP release at Small’s
* Ann Delisi Essential Music Listening Party at Majestic Cafe
* December 9th (madness, but so fun!)
* Singing the National Anthem at the Detroit Yacht Club, immediately followed by work boat party on the Detroit River
* The multiple things we were involved in because of Dave Feeny (a genius and a hero!)
* Tori (the child, not Amos)
* The Tournament of Rock at Scholars & Rogues

It occurred to me at some point during the Tournament that I had gone bananas wanting to win.  It was probably around the time I posted “I want to win this fucking thing”, which certainly isn’t proper etiquette.  First, because I used the word “fucking” in a somewhat public forum ::gasp:: (oops!  There I go again!  Sorry, Momma!!), and second because I don’t think you’re supposed to so blatantly admit how bad you crave the glory of winning, but I did.  Oops.

I should state for the record that I did not enjoy being in competition with our best band buds, The Lost Patrol.  Not at all.  In fact, it stressed me out and I actively hated it.  I have no doubt that Ed is kicking himself today, since we wouldn’t have even been in the contest had he not encouraged Sam from S&R to check us out after our album came out.  I wanted to stab Tony for recommending Eilen Jewell to Sam when I thought she was gonna take us out in the quarter-final, just based on the math.  Once I realized we had a chance at winning (which I honestly didn’t think was possible going in), I knew it was probably the only opportunity we’d have to win anything.  Let’s be honest, the likeliness of our ever *winning* anything or getting any award/recognition is highly unlikely.  I mean, besides the fact that there just aren’t contests like this very often (that I’m aware of), our only other real shot at it is our local (now very corporate) awards show, which seems to always be the same small group of people being nominated and winning every year.  That certainly isn’t going to stop me from submitting our album and keeping my fingers crossed that we somehow make it on to the ballot in one of the two categories I think we’d even be eligible for.

Anyway, so after harassing people to vote for days, we ended up winning by a small margin.  Woot!  Thank you to everyone that voted and spread the word about the contest, and especially to Momma, who I believe is personally responsible for at least 100 of the votes we received.  The amount of support shown by our friends, families and fans was truly overwhelming for me.  It’s often very hard for me to believe that anyone gives a shit at all, so that was really encouraging for me and I plan on holding onto it for a while.


5 Responses to “The New Year and The Tournament”

  1. Kelly said

    Congrats, Kate! I voted for you!

  2. I love that you mentioned us in your blog. You are awesome. Thank you. Happy New Year.

  3. And yes…..CONGRATS on the win!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 585 other followers

